Ain’t Nothing But God

Thirteen months ago I was diagnosed with inoperable stage 3 lung cancer. The prognosis was anything but good. In the beginning I was told there was nothing that could be done. WE PRAYED! I mean we really prayed and then there was chemo, and radiation.

Three months later another catscan. Amazingly, there was some shrinkage.

Three months later, another catscan; more shrinkage. This time with no chemo or radiation….just prayer.

Yesterday I had another catscan.

Though I am fully aware that there are no significant biological changes that take place between the scan and the reading of the scan I am equally aware that this is a time that my faith was really challenged.

Thoughts came into my mind that troubled me. I had to remind myself that “I am a man of Faith’.

I had to remind myself that God had given me a Word and I needed to hang tight to His promise.

I had to remind myself  that He would never forsake me.

The first words out of the mouth of the oncologist when I entered her office were, “Everything looks good. There are no signs of spreading or growth. As a matter of fact, there is some additional shrinkage”. “Keep doing what you are doing and come back in four months.”

That was good news and that ain’t nothing but God!

In the Bonds of Calvary,

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erika
    May 06, 2009 @ 00:51:05

    Holy God! This is awesome! “Keep doing what you have been doing…” God! Answers! Prayer!

    Reply

  2. DC
    May 06, 2009 @ 00:56:40

    Excellent!!

    Reply

  3. Lynn
    May 06, 2009 @ 01:27:23

    That is awsome news! reminds me of the dream.

    Reply

  4. Aaron
    May 06, 2009 @ 02:42:21

    That was just what i needed to hear right now your a blessing.

    Judy and JD williams nephew,
    Aaron

    Reply

  5. Rebekah
    May 06, 2009 @ 12:53:25

    God is truly good all the time!!! Some time we just have to learn to wait.

    Reply

  6. Fred McCray
    May 06, 2009 @ 19:59:30

    When all else fails, God kicks in.
    Awesome is He.

    Reply

  7. HGKirkalnd in MT
    May 06, 2009 @ 23:18:10

    Standing on the promises that can not fail, though the howling storms of doubt and fear assail, by the living Word of God I shall prevail…..I’m standing on the promises of God.

    Rev.20:10 The devil, who deceived them was cast into the lake of fire and brimstone where the beast and the false prophet are. And they WILL be tormented day and night forever and ever.

    I, like you have nothing but a Word from God, but when the Word is from God what wlse do we need?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

