Sticking my Neck Out…..

I’ve got to let go and launch out if I’m going to be a person of faith.

Have you heard the old saying, “Turtles only make progress when they stick their necks out?” Well, it’s true about me, too. 

    Have you ever watched a circus trapeze artist? The Trapeze artist is a hundred feet high in the air, they swing out on one bar, and the other one’s coming out the other way for them to grab. But those things are spaced apart so that they have to let go of this one before they can grab onto that one, and kind of leap for it. And when they leap for it, there is a point in the trapeze act, that that person is suspended a hundred feet above the ground, holding on to thin air, for a split second. For the moment that they let go of this one, and before they actually are able to grab the other one, they’re sailing there, a hundred feet above the ground, holding onto nothing. 

    That scares me just to think about it.  But, it’s a good mental image of what it means to live by faith. God wants to work in my life, but I have to let go of the past before Ican grab hold of the future. I’ve got to let go of security in order to grab opportunity. 

    This is very important, because the most difficult part of taking the risk is the letting go of the old. I want to hold on to the old job, until the new job is secure. I want to make sure that everything’s set up in my new home, before I move out of the old home.

What am I talking about?  I’m talking about throwing away the crutches – throwing away the crutches that I’ve been using. I’ve got to let go and launch out – and that’s difficult.

In most decisions, there is a point of no return, where I have to face my fear.

Trusting God is paramount!

In the Bonds of Calvary,

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Fred McCray
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 22:18:29

    After prayer, one should try to do what they could not do before. So true.
    Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

